The Lion King: On Broadway | Review

lion king broadway picture

Disclaimer: My review of The Lion Kong is solely based on a personal opinion.

Hakuna Matata, it means no worries. Who has heard that phrase before? Probably everyone…I hope. Well if you don’t know this phrase, then you should go to your local public library to pick up a copy of The Lion King and watch it ASAP.

Recently, I got a chance to watch The Lion King live on broadway at Minskoff Theatre in New York City (NYC) and here’s what I have to say about the experience. Initially, when you get there, you wait in a line outside. The line wasn’t too bad and it went by fairly quickly. They check your bag and jackets prior to entering so it made me feel safe(r) being in a dark theater. The theater itself is 3(?) stories tall and there are theater staffs at every floor to help navigate you to the proper seating area. Outside of the theater is a little concession stand with alcoholic beverages, snacks, and soft drinks. The pricing of the items are a little expensive, but that was predicted. (Imagine the movies, but a little bit more expensive.)

After getting my drink, I walked into the theater and a theater staff helped me find my seat. The whole process was pretty smooth and it was enjoyable. The theater itself is a decent size, I sat in the orchestra section towards the left. I could see basically the entire stage and the seats were comfortable. The theater wasn’t too cold or hot throughout the whole show, it was the perfect temperature.

The show itself was great, the costumes were amazing and the actors/actresses were awesome. But, I would still personally won’t recommend this as a “must-see” broadway show. Here’s why. The beginning of the show is incredible with great songs and acting. However, as the show goes on, it gets more…boring. It was hard to adjust from cartoon characters to real life people with masks on top of their heads. Even though they sang each and every song flawlessly, the show itself as a whole was just not as enjoyable as I imagined so. The beginning of the show is the most exciting part, the middle and end are the most “ehh” parts.

If you have seen The Lion King on broadway as well, what were your thoughts on it? Do you agree with my opinion or do you disagree? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Much Love,

Veee

Let’s get social! Facebook | Twitter | Instagram 

Leave a Reply

