Girls Love Mail

At my University, we have this volunteering program call – Girls Love Mail. Essentially, it’s where you write a (few) letter(s) to women all over that have or was recently diagnosed with some form of Breast Cancer. The word Cancer, it gives people chills, sadness, depression, etc. Cancer, that’s a word that nobody ever wants to hear. Cancer, it’s inevitable. But, we can change that thought around with some positive thinking. Cancer, I will kick your ass. Cancer,  you will lose. Those are just a few examples. I work at the volunteering department and one of my tasks was to read over every letter – ensuring that it’s positive and not negative. As I was reading every single letter, I got chills.

I can’t possibly imagine what it’s like to be told – you have cancer. I can’t imagine what it’s like to go through chemotherapy. I can’t imagine what it’s like to feel week, helpless. I can’t imagine what it’s like to go bald. There were a lot of thoughts running through my mind, as I was reading them. But then, I realized, I can help. Even though I can’t tell them that I know what they’re going through and that they will kick cancer’s ass, I CAN tell them they can fight for their lives. That they CAN focus on the positive – they got to live and they have a loving family & friends. And that it’s OKAY to be afraid.

I was personally affected by Cancer. My mom had stage 3 breast cancer last year and she is officially cancer free this January! I can honestly say that, it was the most traumatic moment in my life, when my mom said the words, “I need to tell you something…I have cancer.” When I heard those words, a million thoughts were running through my mind, I didn’t shed a single tear…not because I wasn’t sad, but I was just so shocked. I tried to not think about it, but it was inevitable when her hair starts falling off of her head. It was inevitable when I watch her getting sad about the baldness of her head. It was inevitable when she got her first wig. It was inevitable when I went to chemotherapy with her. I was there with her every step of the way and it felt so surreal. Even though she was struggling, she was in pain, she was sad, she never showed a glimpse of sadness, of tear, of pain. She continued to go to work whenever she could and she never complained once. I have never met such a strong human being and I envy her for being so strong. If I had 1/8th of her strength, I will be a better person. My mother is my hero and my role model. She taught me to never give up, to always look at the positive, even when the negative outweighs the positive. I am who I am because of her and I wouldn’t want it any other way.

Stay strong, my warriors.

Much Love,
Veee

Leave a Reply

