Quote of the Day

“The only person you should try to be better than, is the person you were yesterday.” – unknown.

When I stumbled upon this quote, it got me thinking a lot. On a daily basis, people compare themselves to one another about everything. Why do we do it? … Is it because we think we’re not good enough? Is it because we think they’re better? Or is it as simple as – because we think comparatively, they have the qualities that you want for yourself?

No matter what the reason is, I just want to tell you – you are amazing just the way you are. When you compare yourself to others, you’re basically degrading yourself. So why do it? Don’t get me wrong, I do it on a daily basis without thinking and I’m trying to get better at it. The main reason I do it is because I always find some kind of flaw about myself and I keep thinking that if I change, I can be a better version of me. But, that’s the wrong way to look at it. Everybody has flaws, nobody is perfect. If I had to name all the flaws about me, well that would take too long. So when I found this quote, it immediately hit me. I’ve had the wrong mindset this WHOLE time! I shouldn’t be comparing myself to others or changing because of others. I should be comparing myself to MYSELF and changing because of ME.

If you don’t like something about yourself, change it. But do it for yourself only. Don’t ever compare yourself to others, because that’s just a toxic mindset. I know for myself, I have a toxic mindset in that sense. I compare myself on the daily to everyone, my friends, boyfriend, family, strangers, you name it – I’ve probably already done it. But then I realized something important, my friend may be better than me at A, but I’m better at B. If we all have the same strengths and weaknesses, then there wouldn’t be anything that distinguish you from others. We’re all different in our own ways and we should be proud of it.

So remember, don’t compare yourself to others and don’t you ever bring yourself down with negativity. Just accept yourself for who you are, and if you know you have to change because you don’t like who you’ve become – then CHANGE YOURSELF, but don’t do it for others.

Much Love,

Veee

Leave a Reply

